Google Chrome coming out of beta (soon)


google-chromeEarly on in September I told you about Google Chrome being launched and subsequent to that I gave you my first impressions regarding Google’s browser. Today I read on TechCrunch that Google Chrome, after nearly 3 months, will be coming out of beta. As to the exact date that this will happen still remains a myster – according to Google VP, Marissa Mayer.

Incedentally, today was the first time that my copy of Chrome has crashed (while viewing Google Reader as an application).  Coincidence? Did they build in a use-by-date in their beta? I’ve not looked at the source, so I’m not sure. 

As far as betas go when it comes to Google, I’m not holding my breath, since Gmail has been in beta since it’s public release back in 2004.

Extensions for Chrome (also coming soon)

I was just about to publish this post when I spotted another Chrome article on Gadget Advisor about the future of extensions for the Chrome browser, like there is for Mozilla’s Firefox. 

One of Google’s developers made the announcement that Google is looking into integrating third-party browser plugins for Chrome. They also released a design document that provided an outline for what needed to be done in order to add plugin support. 

3 Responses to “Google Chrome coming out of beta (soon)”

  1. […] Chrome officially out of beta! I guess I need to eat my words. Only yesterday I told you about Google Chrome being ready to come out of Beta, but I wasn’t sure as to when […]

  2. it will be interesting to see if Chrome can get as much market share as Firefox; for now they seem to have leveled off…

    • @coffee – I think once their browser becomes more extensible like Firefox’s with it’s add-ons, then I’m sure it’s going to take a big chunk out of the browser market.

Leave a Reply

