Wireless Electricity


You’ve used a wireless device at some or other point, after all almost everyone has a mobile, right? Bluetooth is a wireless technology for transferring data from one device to another – I use it to transfer photos taken with my mobile to my laptop and vice-versa. My laptop has a wi-fi device so that I can surf the Internet, wirelessly.

But what about powering and charging devices, wirelessly? Sounds like science-fiction, right? Not at all, if you were at CES-2009 expo. 

At the Consumer Electronics Show this year, Powermat debuted its technology in a whole new way. Powermat “brings safe, simple, and efficient wireless electricity to surfaces including walls, tables, floors, and desktops. It is designed to replace the need to access multiple electrical sockets,” says the Web site. In other words, you can use this technology to power your electronics in real time, with no cords, no outlets, and no batteries. – source CNET.

Don’t believe me – can’t figure it out? Watch this video and be amazed like I was – I want one of these! For more info about these products go and check out Powermat’s website.

3 Responses to “Wireless Electricity”

  1. Still not completely wireless if the mixer plugins into the charger with a cable, lol!

    Tell me, what inspired this post?

    I like.

    • @Chris – Well with the wireless access point you can take older items that haven’t got the power-receiver and still use them on the counter top. I was just browsing through some news feeds from CNet and spotted that article – I think it’s one of the best things since sliced bread!

  2. This thing is amazing! It’s coming out October 4th, go to http://buy-powermat.com to buy one!

Leave a Reply

