Are you playing EuroMillions?


pound_coinsThis Friday’s jackpot is sitting at £110 million! 

Picture a pound coin – got it? Now picture a pile of 110 of them. Now picture 1 million of those piles – yup – got it now? That’s how much you could win in this Friday’s jackpot!

Considering the news I got yesterday (more on that later in the week) I thought it fortuitous to purchase a few tickets to this Friday’s draw. It’s only £4 a ticket – what have you got to lose? Just think of the possibilities.

A friend posted earlier this month about what she would do if she won the lottery. My wife just asked me what I’d do if I didn’t *have* to work anymore? You know what – I’d probably still do what I do now, develop software and solutions and blog – except the difference would be I wouldn’t *need* to do them for money and I could pick the jobs I wanted and even do charity software development – I wouldn’t know what to do with myself otherwise. 

A nice piece of land for us so that we can build a house to our own specifications, a good family car (and of course something nice for daddy to take for a spin on Sunday morning’s). We’d probably give a sizeable chunk to each other’s brothers and sisters to help them out too. Other than that I somehow doubt we’d change otherwise, other than a few wise investments for our kids’ futures.

What would you do? Would you change? Would you know how?

3 Responses to “Are you playing EuroMillions?”

  1. Yes I am definitely playing! It’s £1.50 per ticket – where do you get £4 from Deems? I am running a lottery syndicate at work and my boss’s boss, who was recently given the boot (big loss sadly – but who understands what companies do most of the time anyway), is also playing. Last week’s was £89 million. We played 36 lines and we won £25.50 which we are obviously rolling over into this week. If I won I would donate a large chunk to these guys, http://www.seashepherd.org, who are doing great work fighting the evil, terrorist Japanese who are slaughtering whales for profit in the name of “Research”.

    Hold thumbs for the whales!

    • I guess that’s the benefit of buying tickets locally costing you less. Yeah I read last week rolled over into this week. I’m hoping my £20 will have been spent wisely – last time we also played in a syndicate but unfortunately didn’t get anything – holding thumbs for us both!

  2. […] I can now finally blog about what I alluded to last week. There’s been some water-cooler talk at work for some time now over the concern for lack of […]

Leave a Reply

