It’s official


I can now finally blog about what I alluded to last week. There’s been some water-cooler talk at work for some time now over the concern for lack of current work and new work, which just isn’t coming in as quickly as everyone had hoped. We were asked to put forward ideas for additional cost-cutting measures but it seems the unavoidable has to happen, some staff need to be retrenched. 

In an effort to be fair to all staff the company has decided to invoke the last in, first out policy. So the last 4 full-time employees who have joined the company are being offered retrenchment packages. 

We were told of the likelihood of retrenchment last week but I knew, in all fairness, there weren’t any other practical, feasible and unanimously acceptable ways that this cost-saving could be achieved without retrenchment.

And so, I am one of the fantastic four to be retrenched. It’s been a bit of a weight lifted off my shoulders (I did not sleep well at all last week after the news – after all I have a family and a mortgage to worry about) now that this process has actually been finalised and I can actively focus on moving on. At the same time I’m so ticked off with the fact that I’ve spent the last 9 months proving myself to the company, and now I have to do it all over again, someplace new. I’ve been involved in commercial software development for over 11 years now, I think I’m getting a little old for this now.

Anyway, the company is actually being very helpful in respect of the retrenchment process and are being very accommodating to those being retrenched with regard to use of resources, time off for finding new work and even speaking to their preferred partners to assist us in finding new employment. Something which the company can pride itself in, as that’s something hard to find out there. It’s important to note that this is not the company’s only positive points – they have many, including the people I’ve had the privilege to work with. They’ve done a lot for us and this was really their last resort – so, no harbouring grudges from me. 

I’m really going to miss working here and with the people but I guess it’s just my time to turn to a new chapter. Let’s hope the next one’s longer than this one has been!

12 Responses to “It’s official”

  1. Holding thumbs Deems.. and happy to hear you’re getting support and help instead of being dumped out on your rear unceremoniously!

  2. 😦
    Time to twitter yourself a new job dude. There’s something great out there, with your name all over it!
    There are a lot of companies that would be lucky to get you.
    All the best bud
    Sincerely,
    Number 5

    • Thanks Number 5 – appreciate the vote of confidence! Exploring all avenues through Twitter, Facebook, Gatorpeeps, LinkedIn and Email.
      Regards,
      Number 1

      PS: We need to organise your inauguration.

  3. It’s time to perfect your skills in “Texas Hold ‘Em” and move on to the big leagues. 🙂

    • Hahaha – I need to do some serious work on my Texas Hold’em skills before I can even begin thinking about joining the big leagues and turning it into a career – I’m still small fry at the moment 🙂

  4. Sheesh dude, just read this now. What a bummer. Oh well, welcome to the ranks of the jobless! Hopefully something even better will come along.

    Take it easy,
    T.

    • Thanks mate. Only been looking actively for a week now, have a few leads that I’m waiting for feedback on. How’s the move been and the job hunt that side for you?

  5. […] chapter begins Well the last two weeks have been a bit of a roller-coaster. With the news at work of retrenchments and the idea of having to find work again, especially in the current state of the […]

Leave a Reply

