10 years on – through the looking glass


If you’d asked me 10 years ago where I thought I’d be today I probably wouldn’t be able to picture my life quite like this – I know I had aspirations of getting to this point one day but that’s all they were back then.

About 11 years and 6 months ago my life changed, in a blink of an eye. I met someone with whom I began a new chapter, in fact, a few new chapters. I convinced her to move with me to the UK where we made London our home a year after we met. Six months later we returned and got married.

We went back to London where we lived and worked for another 3 years. Somewhere along the way we did some travelling in and around the UK, Portugal, Greece, France and Mexico.

And then another chapter began, Melissa was born. Four months later we packed up our belongings, shipped them off to South Africa in a container and flew back to Cape Town.

Yet again another chapter began, our family and life back in Cape Town. As the years went by so did the changing of jobs, meeting new people, making new friends. And almost 4 years later our lives took another turn, for the better, Rebecca was born. That was a little over 3 years ago now.

It almost feels like it was only yesterday that I met Dina, and look how much has happened and how much time has passed.

And so that brings me to today, the 25th of September, 2009. Ten years on, so much has happened and so much that I’m grateful for.

Dina, Melissa and Rebecca – I love you. Thank you for being a part of my life and letting me be a part of yours. May there be many such milestones ahead and many more joyous times.

To my friends and family – thanks for being there for us too, in good times and bad.

Right now, as of the (automated) time this post goes live, I’ll either be lying next to Dina in our lodge at Monkey Valley (where we spent our honeymoon, 10 years ago), in Noordhoek, or having breakfast – enjoy the weekend, I know we will.

4 Responses to “10 years on – through the looking glass”

  1. Congratulations Deems & Dina, I hope you both have an amazing, nostalgic, and refreshing weekend!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s been great getting to know you both over the past year or so (can you believe it?), and its a privilege knowing I’m your favourite friend ;-P

  2. Congratulations to you both — a decade of wonderful accomplishments.

    It’s been a pleasure to know and become so fondly attached to such a wonderful family from another continent. It’s amazing how fast the time has passed.

    I vividly recall when you met Dina and you used to email me about how much in love you were with this wonderful person. I look forward to many many more years!

Leave a Reply

