Archive for Thursday, 21 May 2009

New addition to the family

Posted in Family, General with tags , , , , on Thursday, 21 May 2009 by Deems

We now have two rabbits (Spikey and Snowey), a Golden Retriever (Max), a cat (Spookie) and now my wife’s Mother’s Day present has arrived, Laki, the orange Canary!

laki_canary

Google Chrome, the need for speed!

Posted in General, Technology with tags , , , , , , on Thursday, 21 May 2009 by Deems

Back in September last year I told you about Google entering the browser wars with their own web browser, Chrome.  Then next day, I gave you my first impressions. If my job didn’t require me to develop web sites in Internet Explorer and Firefox I’d have long since set Chrome as my default browser. Although, for my own day-to day use I almost exclusively use Chrome as my browser of choice.

Today, Google have announced and released the latest stable version of Chrome.

stable-google-chrome-about

Some of the improvements and new features include:

Improved New Tab Page: The most requested feature from users was the ability to remove thumbnails from the New Tab page. Now you can finally hide that embarrassing gossip blog from the Most Visited

Ha, ha, I was wondering when this would be implemented – not that I have to worry about this but still a nice added feature. Watch the video later in this post to see how this works. I find this new tab page very useful for quickly getting back to pages I use frequently.

Full Screen Mode: If you’ve ever given a presentation or watched a large video using Google Chrome, you might have wished you could use every last pixel on your screen for the content. Now you can hide the title bar and the rest of the browser window by hitting F11 or selecting the option in the Tools menu.

Although I don’t use this often, at times I’ve found myself needing to maximize the window and this will now come in handy – in the beginning I often found myself looking for this feature since being used to it in IE and FF.

Form Autofill: Filling out your information in forms over and over again can be tedious. Form autofill helps by showing information you’ve previously entered into the same form fields automatically. If at any point you want to clear out your information, that’s easy to do from the Tools menu.

This is actually something I’ve often found very useful when filling in forms over and over again while testing – or similarly named fields on various websites (like your name, email address).

Increased Stability: Google Chrome is more stable than ever–we have fixed over 300 bugs that caused crashes since launch.

I’ve only ever experience one or two crashes while using Chrome but they’ve been isolated incidents and always only a plug-in or tab crashing.

Increased Speed: Making the web faster continues to be our main area of focus. Thanks to a new version of WebKit and an update to our JavaScript engine, V8, interactive web pages will run even faster. We’ve also made sure that JavaScript keeps running fast even when you have lots of tabs open. Try opening a bunch of web applications and then running your favorite benchmark. You can read more about V8 in our JavaScript scalability post on the Chromium blog. – source Google Chrome Blog

I’m going to see in the next few days/weeks whether this improvement is more apparent.

You can take a look at some other Chrome-related posts here. Are you not using Google Chrome yet? Why not? Go and download it now and try it out for yourself.

Doodle 4 Google – Winner Announced!

Posted in General with tags , , , , on Thursday, 21 May 2009 by Deems

Earlier this month Google announced the finalists in the Doodle 4 Google competition. Today they’ve announced the winner, Christin Engelberth a 6th-grader from Harris Middle School in San Antonio, Texas.

google-doodle_winner

Christin wins herself a $15,000 college scolarship, a laptop and a $25,000 technology grant for her school – congratulations! You can see the other three national finalists here and all of the regional finalists here. [via Google Blog]

VOTD: Neverending Sun

Posted in General on Thursday, 21 May 2009 by Deems

This is a really impressive time-lapse video taken over a period of a week, during summer, at the Arctic Circle depicting a sun that never sets below the horizon. [via DCP]